1. News Articles
  2. Related News Articles
News Article Details

RIMS Presents Highest Industry Honors at 2010 Annual Conference & Exhibition

Source: RIMS

Posted on 27 Apr 2010

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Google

The Risk and Insurance Management Society (RIMS) today announced the winners of its series of industry awards, presented during RIMS 2010 Annual Conference & Exhibition Award Luncheon.

RIMS' most prestigious honor, the Harry and Dorothy Goodell Award, was presented to Stephen M. Wilder, ARM, vice president of risk management at The Walt Disney Company. Named in honor of RIMS first president, the award pays tribute to an individual who has furthered the goals of the Society and the risk management discipline through outstanding service and achievement.

The Society recognized other outstanding risk practitioners, as well. The Richard W. Bland Memorial Award was presented to Lance Kayfish, risk manager at the City of Kelowna, British Columbia. The award was created by RIMS Kansas City Chapter in 1974 to recognize a member’s dedicated commitment in the area of legislation or regulation.

The Ron Judd “Heart of RIMS” Award was presented to Mark Ryan, ARM, director of casualty insurance at Occidental Petroleum Corporation and member of the Dallas-Fort Worth Chapter. The award pays tribute to the legacy of Ron Judd, who served as RIMS executive director for 22 years. Individuals are nominated by chapters for outstanding performance in furthering risk management at the chapter level.

The Arthur Quern Quality Award was presented to Paychex, Inc. for its predictive model within its enterprise risk management program. This honor showcases innovation within the risk management industry that has contributed to increased quality in products, services and enterprise risk management within an organization.

The Cristy Award was presented to Stanley Jurewicz, director of risk management at Florida State University, Jacksonville. This award acknowledges the individual who earned the highest marks on the three exams required to earn the Associate of Risk Management designation.

RIMS and Business Insurance magazine presented the 2010 Risk Manager of the Year® Award to Debra L. Rodgers, ARM, vice president of global risk management at Philadelphia-based ARAMARK Corporation.

Also announced were members of the 2010 Risk Management Honor Roll®:

* Scott Borup, director of corporate risk management at Johnson & Johnson in New Brunswick, N.J.

* Christine Eick, ARM, DRM, executive director of risk management and safety at Auburn University in Auburn, Alabama

RIMS also recognized the exceptional work of its Chapters for Outstanding Chapter Programming, Advancing the Risk Management Profession, Outstanding Member Services, Overall Chapter Excellence and the new Membership Growth Awards.