1. News Articles
  2. Related News Articles
News Article Details

President Obama Declares Major Disaster for Oklahoma

Source: FEMA

Posted on 25 May 2010

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Google

The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Craig Fugate announced today that federal aid is available to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, tornadoes, and straight-line winds during the period of May 10-13, 2010.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Carter, Cleveland, McIntosh, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, and Seminole Counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Gregory W. Eaton as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area. Eaton said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed.