Loading LiveCycle Banners.
  1. News Articles
News Article Details

25 Finalists Announced for the 2010 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award

Posted on 16 Dec 10

Hundreds of college football coaches have spent the season reviewing tape, logging extra hours preparing for the opposition, and orchestrating game plans to produce victories. And for 25 premier college football coaches, their inspirational efforts both on and off the field now sets them apart from the rest. Liberty Mutual Insurance today named the 25 finalists for the 2010 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, the leading college football-coaching honor that celebrates coaches for their sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence, and for giving back to their teams, schools and communities, on and off field.

The finalists (10 from the Football Bowl Subdivision and five each from the Football Championship Subdivision, Division II and Division III) were determined as a result of online fan voting at and through an objective scoring model endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame. Each coach was among the top 15 in fan votes in his division to qualify for the model, which considers, among other criteria: wins, team penalties, on-field sportsmanship, academic achievement by the student-athletes, and civic and philanthropic endeavors.

"These 25 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year finalists demonstrate that it’s more than passion for the game or knowledge of x’s and o’s that makes them great coaches," said Archie Manning, Chairman of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame, a partner in presenting the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year. "They embody the spirit of the sport by inspiring excellence and leadership in their players, whether in the stadium, the classroom, or in their communities."